G.A.S. Foundation announces 2023 Fellowship Awardees: Amanda Iheme, Ojo Taiye, and Kosisochukwu Nnebe

980612p468EDNmainimg G.A.S. Fellowship award 1

Guest Artists Space (G.A.S.) Foundation, a non-profit organization committed to fostering international cultural exchange and advancing creative and research practices, has announced the recipients of the 2023 G.A.S. Fellowship Award. This prestigious award, presented in collaboration with the Yinka Shonibare Foundation (Y.S.F.), celebrates emerging practitioners rooted in Materiality, Ecology, Food, Environment, and History in the Present.

After meticulous evaluation of 160 applications, the judging panel selected three outstanding individuals: Amanda Iheme, an architecture photographer; Ojo Taiye, a Nigerian eco-artivist and writer; and Kosisochukwu Nnebe, a conceptual artist. These talented awardees will embark on residencies at G.A.S. Lagos and its sister location, the G.A.S. Ecology Green Farm in Ijebu.

Meet the 2023 G.A.S. Fellowship Awardees:

Amanda Iheme | Image Source: G.A.S. Foundation

1. Amanda Iheme:

Amanda Iheme, an architecture photographer based in Lagos, Nigeria, focuses on documenting and preserving Nigeria’s architectural heritage. Her work celebrates design, history, and culture. Amanda will undertake her residency at G.A.S. Lagos.

image 1
Ojo Taiye | Image Source: G.A.S. Foundation

2. Ojo Taiye:

Ojo Taiye, a Nigerian eco-artivist, cultural worker, and writer, employs poetry to address societal frustrations. His collaborative practice draws inspiration from personal experiences and interprets issues such as climate change, homelessness, migration, racism, black identity, and mental health. Ojo’s residency will take place at G.A.S. Lagos.

image 2

3. Kosisochukwu Nnebe:

Kosisochukwu Nnebe, a conceptual artist, derives inspiration from postcolonial and Black feminist thinkers. Working across installation, lens-based media, and sculpture, Nnebe engages with themes like the politics of Black visibility and the use of foodways as counter-archives of colonial histories. Kosisochukwu will complete her residency at the G.A.S. Farm House.

This marks the second edition of the G.A.S. Fellowship, following the success of the inaugural edition that honored Laeïla Adjovi, Sarafadeen Bello, Olorunfemi Johnson, Samuel Nnorom, Tobi Onabolu, Ofem Ubi, and Uzor Ugoala. The G.A.S. Foundation continues to champion diverse and innovative voices in the realm of art and culture through its fellowship program.

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin