Henrike Grohs Art Award 2024 Unveils Its 21 Shortlisted Artists

0e9aecde 86fb 431e 9802 96ad24d30ef2 1080x1080

Henrike Grohs Art Award 2024 Unveils Its 21 Shortlisted Artists

The Goethe-Institut has officially revealed the 21 artists shortlisted for the prestigious Henrike Grohs Art Award 2024. This biennial art prize, established by the Goethe-Institut and the Grohs family in memory of the late Henrike Grohs, former Head of Goethe-Institut in Abidjan, is a testament to Grohs’ dedication to promoting contemporary art in Africa.

The selection process was no small feat, with 690 applications pouring in from 40 countries across the African continent. The esteemed selection committee, comprised of Martha Kazungu, Jean Kamba, and Edna Bettencourt, meticulously reviewed the applications to identify the 21 standout artists who made the shortlist.

The shortlisted artists and their respective countries are as follows:

  1. Assoukrou Aké – Côte d’Ivoire
  2. Bright Ackwerh – Ghana
  3. Fezeka Jacqueline Mophethe – South Africa
  4. Frederick Ebenezer Okai – Ghana
  5. Helena Uambembe (Pomfret)
  6. Jean Katambayi Mukendi – Democratic Republic of the Congo
  7. Kay-Leigh Fisher – South Africa
  8. Khadija El Abyad – Morocco
  9. Kitso Lynn Lelliott – Botswana
  10. Koffi SEBLE – Togo
  11. Luis Santos – Mozambique
  12. Mellaney Roberts – South Africa
  13. Mohamed El Masry – Egypt
  14. Pamina Sebasti„o – Angola
  15. Paul Alden Mvoutoukoulou – Congo
  16. Rita Mawuena Benissan – Ghana
  17. Tamary Kudita – Zimbabwe
  18. Tessi Kodjovi – Togo
  19. Tshepiso Mabula ka Ndongeni – South Africa
  20. Usha Seejarim – South Africa
  21. Wambui Kamiru Collymore – Kenya

An international jury will soon deliberate to select the top three winners from this talented pool. The grand prize winner will be awarded a substantial cash prize of €20,000, along with an additional €10,000 for the production of a publication showcasing their work. Two runners-up, whether individuals or collectives, will each receive a cash prize of €5,000.

This prestigious award has become a beacon for exceptional African contemporary art since its inception in 2018. Previous recipients include Gladys Kalichini from Zambia in 2022, Jackie Karuti from Kenya in 2020, and Em’kal Eyongakpa from Cameroon in 2018.

As anticipation builds, the art world eagerly awaits the announcement of the winners by the international jury in 2024, marking another chapter in the celebration of outstanding artistic achievements on the African continent. For more information and updates, visit the official Henrike Grohs Art Award website.

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin